Announcement

#1 2017-02-06 15:51:43

DeathAndTaxes
2017-02-06

Inconsistent File Locations?

Hello/Hi/Greetings,

Hi, I've been using piwigo for a couple of years now. I imported from a galleryproject.org gallery.

I've noticed that I have images all over the place in my installation. I have images in:

$PIWIGO/galleries/subgalleries
$PIWIGO/subgalleries (some of these are 1-for-1 duplicates of the above directory lists, resulting in double the storage. I have moved these subgalleries out temporarily to test for breakage)
$PIWIGO/upload/$YEAR/$MONTH/$DAY
$PIWIGO/_data/i/upload/$YEAR/$MONTH/$DAY

Maybe even more locations. I'm concerned about data loss overall. I would like to get all of these images moved to a single consistent directory and all future images to be placed in that same directory.

My questions are:
1. How did my images get spread over so many different and sometimes non-intuitive directories?
2. How can I get all of my images moved to a single consistent path structure and still have the web access work?
3. How can I prevent this from happening in the future? How can I tell piwigo where to store future images?
4. Will the default path change in the future?

Piwigo version: 2.8.6
PHP version: 7.1.1-1+deb.sury.org~xenial+1
MySQL version: 5.7.17-0ubuntu0.16.04.1
Piwigo URL: https://archie.caglan.netslash~danpslashimagesslashgallery (replace slash with /)

#2 2017-02-06 22:50:37

windracer
St. Pete, FL
2014-12-28

Re: Inconsistent File Locations?

$PIWIGO/galleries is where FTP synchronization happens (for physical albums).
$PIWIGO/upload is where uploaded images to (for virtual galleries).
$PIWIGO/_data/i will contain things like thumbnails and re-sizes created by Piwigo.

I only use FTP synchronization so all of my images are under galleries and upload is empty. I'm not sure why you would have had duplicates under galleries and <subgalleries> but maybe that was a quirk in your migration from your old gallery to Piwigo?

#3 2017-02-06 23:17:19