function get_root_url()
{
  global $page;
  if ( isset($page['root_path']) )
  {
    $root_url = $page['root_path'];
  }
  else
  {// TODO - add HERE the possibility to call PWG functions from external scripts
    $root_url = PHPWG_ROOT_PATH;
  }
  if ( strncmp($root_url, './', 2) != 0 )
  {
    return $root_url;
  }
  else
  {
    return (string)substr($root_url, 2);
  }
}

It's a little bit disturbing ... : - /
For me, a file on the server and url are two different things...

My pictures with Piwigo, of course !
[ www.grum.fr ]

#2 2010-11-04 21:34:26

stellablue
Hawaii
2010-10-25

Re: PHPWG_ROOT_PATH constant

I too am a little confused about  this  Constant PHPWG_ROOT_PATH always being ./  .   I am new to piwigo and am trying to learn more about themes and plug-in development.   Maybe someone can explain this Constant.

Would it not be a bit better to have a function that returns a complete URL (or PATH) and concat with literal string or variable?  Everything being relative is confusing to follow, albeit technically correct.  I think WordPress uses complete URLS (paths) based on domain, install path etc.  look at source code on a WP page and you will likely find no relative URLs.

With the relative URLs (paths) the browser (or os) has to parse and compute final path, whereas a complete URL (path) needs no parsing, so resources may load faster.  It probably is not a significant amount of time, but some.

- stellablue

#3 2010-11-09 01:06:01

plg
Piwigo Team
Nantes, France, Europe
2002-04-05

stellablue wrote:

Would it not be a bit better to have a function that returns a complete URL (or PATH) and concat with literal string or variable?  Everything being relative is confusing to follow, albeit technically correct.  I think WordPress uses complete URLS (paths) based on domain, install path etc.  look at source code on a WP page and you will likely find no relative URLs.