Announcement

#1 2010-12-27 17:58:51

dangaio
2010-12-27

SMTP fail to send notificaiton with 530 5.7.0 Must issue a STARTTLS

I have successfully installed Piwigo.

When ever I have a new user subscribe, I don't get any email notification that a new user has subscribed.

When I try to subscribe a user for notification in the Admin>User>Notification>Subscribe section, it fails with the following:

* Error when sending email to user [user@email.address].
    * User user [user@email.address] not added to the subscription list.
    * 1 mail has not been sent.
    * 1 user not updated.

I have configured the config_default.inc.php file under the smtp section to include the following:

// smtp configuration
// (work if fsockopen function is allowed for smtp port)
// smtp_host: smtp server host
//  if null, regular mail function is used
//   format: hoststring[:port]
//   exemple: smtp.pwg.net:21
// smtp_user/smtp_password: user & password for smtp identication
$conf['smtp_host'] = 'smtp.gmail.com:25';
$conf['smtp_user'] = 'myuseraccount';
$conf['smtp_password'] = 'mypassword';

For the smtp_host line, I have tried smtp.gmail.com:25, 465, etc and I still get the same error.

Looking at the error logs, I notice the following:

[Mon Dec 27 09:36:02 2010] [error] [client 192.168.25.1] PHP Warning:  Unable to send e-mail. Error message reported by the SMTP server: "530 5.7.0 Must issue a STARTTLS command first. v19sm17897230wfh.12\r\n" in /var/www/lexstgo/include/class_smtp_mail.inc.php on line 63, referer: http://lexstgo.no-ip.org/admin.php?page … =subscribe

I have looked through the forum, performed searches, and still can't find a way to correct this...

Any help will be appreciated.

#2 2010-12-27 18:21:11

grum
Former Piwigo Team
Pantin
2007-09-10

Re: SMTP fail to send notificaiton with 530 5.7.0 Must issue a STARTTLS

TLS protocol is an encrypted protocol allowing to communicate with securised servers.