Announcement

•  » Engine
  •  » usage of php's mysqli instead of mysql

#1 2012-10-08 19:54:58

Matthes0815
2012-10-08

usage of php's mysqli instead of mysql

Hello everybody,

I started using piwigo a few weeks ago and I like it. It's not for my photos, since I'm not good at photography, but my girlfriend wanted to display her pictures of our dog and our garden and so on...

I started to develope some extensions because she had some ideas no extension covered yet and tried to switch from the deprecated mysql extension to mysqli.
The first steps were simple, but I discovered some problems that will be very annoying if we update to a new version.

Some extensions don't use the pwg_db-functions for every db-call, so I had to change them. They often used pwg_db_query for the query and worked on the result mysql_fetch_array.
And even the core files use mysql_ at some places, e.g. i.php uses mysql_close() on line 521.

I think it's time to switch to mysqli, add some coding guidelines concerning the usage of pwg_db and complete the pwg_db-functions: pwg_db_close() is missing, for example.

Sooner or later php's mysql-extension will be gone and it would be a lot easier to switch to mysqli if extensions and the core files won't need any revision.

Kind regards
Matthias

#2 2012-10-08 20:15:53

mistic100
Former Piwigo Team
Lyon (FR)
2008-09-27

Re: usage of php's mysqli instead of mysql

Hi

there are guidelines but we can't check all plugins

for errors on the core you can open un ticket at http://piwigo.org/bugs
we'll fix it

if you hadn't noticied yet, for switching to mysqli you can simply duplicate the file include/dblayer/functions_mysql.inc.php
and put $conf['dblayer'] = 'mysqli'; in local/config/database.inc.php

#3 2012-10-08 20:16:47

mistic100
Former Piwigo Team
Lyon (FR)
2008-09-27

we can't force MySQLi because many hosts don't have the extension

#4 2012-10-08 23:16:05

Matthes0815
2012-10-08

Hi,

thanks for your answer.