Announcement

#1 2011-05-26 20:19:39

DavePhoto

Does it make sense to use Piwigo as a backup solution?

I am a photographer (aren't we all) and I have many many gigs of photos, and have yet to find a decent online backup solution.

But I do have a dreamhost account with "unlimited" storage and bandwidth.

I am tempted to install Piwiko and upload all my photos to it, and just set it as private to use as my own photo storage database. I realize that it will probably take a week of uploading, but I don't mind letting my computer and internet connection work hard all night while I slumber peacefully.

Is this a good idea? Will it be easy to re-download entire directories if I need to restore my photos to a local drive? Will dreamhost get mad at me?

Thanks,
- Dave

#2 2011-05-26 23:38:50

Nakre
Translation Team
2010-05-05

Re: Does it make sense to use Piwigo as a backup solution?

Downloading them by ftp client (ie. filezilla) as u need by folder or all of them.. yeh why not ?
About your hosting best to contact/ask them.. some don't like, some don't mind that..

#3 2011-05-26 23:40:33

plg
Piwigo Team
Nantes, France, Europe
2002-04-05

If you use your hosting provider just as backup, I don't really see the point to use Piwigo. Just send them over FTP and you're done, don't you think?

#4 2011-05-27 14:19:52

flop25
Piwigo Team
2006-07-06

plg wrote:

If you use your hosting provider just as backup, I don't really see the point to use Piwigo. Just send them over FTP and you're done, don't you think?

yes !
and I think there are more specific solutions for data backup than a server (http://aws.amazon.com/s3/#pricing, http://www.mediafire.com, http://www.livedrive.com/ForBusiness), even if you have an "unlimited" amount of storage -be careful, they can always decline/delete your account if they can't provide a correct service for the other users (you're not on a dedicated server)-

Last edited by flop25 (2011-05-27 14:20:06)